The Peaceful Feast


Tastes Great! What’s In There? Really? You Can’t Tell!

Yesterday, one of my wonderful co-workers sashayed around the office with a red tray in hand, offering each of us a homemade, fresh baked sugar cookie. One glance of the beautifully decorated (she’s one of those perfect people that is great at everything) creations was about all I could take. I quickly averted my gaze, feeling almost a little guilty for even thinking about consuming something so pretty and deadly. I’m sorry, I can’t, I said. Co-worker stared but then recovered, “Wow,” she said, “you are really good at resisting temptation.” She moved on to the next cubicle where her cookies were received with joy.

By the way, I’m not at all good at resisting temptation. In fact, for the rest of the day, all I wanted was one of those cookies.

Later, I explained to her that I can’t have gluten for health reasons in order to alleviate any hurt feelings. I felt good about my decision, but the desire for cookies lingered and so I went to my local Vitamin Cottage and grabbed a bag of gluten-free cookie dough by IMO the best grain company in the world, Bob’s Red Mill. Unfortunately, the cookie dough mix is not featured on its website, but that doesn’t mean you can’t order it online. Go for it!

The mix looked authentic but was a little short on chocolate chips so I added some gluten-free chips that I had on hand. I mixed up the dough according to the directions on the back of the bag but things looked a little dry so I added a sprinkle of almond milk to get things sticking.

I plopped the cookie batter down in rounded lumps on a greased cookie sheet and they turned out great. In fact, better than great! They were actually cookies. Like, real cookies. Like the ones I grew up baking and eating. Oh yum.

(This would be a good place to insert a photo of the finished product, however, I am image-free until Christmas when one of santa’s elves will bring me a digital camera, according to sources.)

The cookies were still soft the next day when I brought them into work. I passed them around to my colleagues: Gluten-free cookie? It was funny to see the way their faces initially pinched up as they politely took the smallest piece possible. Moments later they would be singing praises.

Wow! What did you put in here?

Really? You can’t tell it’s gluten-free!

These are fantastic.


MMMMMMMMMMMMM!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

