The Peaceful Feast


Gluten-Free First Fruits At A Food Bank
December 3, 2009, 12:07 pm
Filed under: food allergies, food allergy, food sensitivities, gluten-free, wheat-free | Tags: ,

This morning on my way in to work, I was listening to an interview on a local NPR station with the founder of a company that aims to promote urban farming. The interviewee spoke repeatedly about the need to make urban farming — including fish farms — profitable.

I wasn’t listening closely to the interview, so I am not sure if I am describing the company or the interviewee accurately, but bothered by all the talk of business, I turned to my car pool companion and said that urban farming should help the poor as part of its mission. In my church, I said, there used to be boxes and boxes of fresh fruits and vegetables dropped off by food producers at the church office for the hungry to take as needed. I don’t know what happened to these boxes. For all I know, since I don’t go to the church during the week, these fresh fruit and vegetable offerings to the poor, first fruits, may still be around.

Now that the whole nation has been hit by a recession, this compassionate sense of mission is needed especially now. A bad economy coupled with needing to follow a gluten-free diet for health reasons takes a massive toll on one’s budget. I’ve seen my food bill shoot up dramatically since adopting a gluten-free diet two months ago. Luckily, I have a job and with a little simplicity I can afford this diet.

But not everybody can. There’s a lot of hungry people out there who can’t have gluten. Which is why I am really thrilled to learn that a food bank not too far from me is collecting gluten-free food for needy families. Which leads me to wondering if there’s some room at the pantry for boxes of fresh produce for an urban farmer to donate. No need to label these fruits and vegetables. After all, they’re naturally gluten-free!*

*Thanks to Gluten Free Dee for taking the initiative on this and tweeting it. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

